Ogier de Gourgue: Adviser to King Louis XIII

Ogier de Gourgue: Conseiller du Roy

This old hunting lodge, built in the 17th century, owes its name to the historic figure of Ogier de Gourgue who was an adviser to King Louis XIII, Treasurer of France and Commissioner of Finances for Bordeaux during the second half of the 16th century.
Ogier de Gourgue, Lord of Vayres, built his fortune by investing in land and domains.

After being passed down to his eldest son Marc Antoine de Gourgue, who was the first President of the Bordeaux Parliament, the Château then changed hands several times during the following centuries. For the last two decades it was in the hands of the Foures family and has belonged to the current owners, the Vincent family, since 2010.

Jean-Marc Vincent, the head of a public works company and an avid wine connoisseur, fell under the spell of Château Ogier de Gourgue and decided to devote himself to his passion for vine-growing and wine.

On his arrival, he undertook major renovation work and modernisation of the facilities.

The only existing vat house was turned into a fermenting room fitted with stainless steel, conical, temperature-controlled vats. The barrel cellar was redesigned and re-sited underground to provide better conditions for ageing and maturing.

In September 2012, his daughter, Claire, with her background in the luxury and beauty industries, came to join him in his new adventure!

Together, father and daughter decided to pool their talents to lead this property on the path to excellence.

Ogier de Gourgue: Conseiller du Roi Louis XIII

Ogier de Gourgue: Conseiller du Roy

Ancien rendez-vous de chasse construit au XVIIe siècle par la famille de Gourgue, le château doit son nom au personnage historique Ogier de Gourgue qui fut Conseiller du Roi Louis XIII, Trésorier de France et Général des Finances à Bordeaux durant la seconde moitié du XVIe siècle.
Seigneur de Vayres, Ogier de Gourgue bâtit sa fortune en investissant dans des terres et seigneuries.

Transmis à son fils ainé Marc Antoine de Gourgue, qui fut le premier président du Parlement de Bordeaux, le château changea plusieurs fois de mains aux cours des siècles. Propriété de la famille FOURES durant ces deux dernières décennies, ce charmant domaine appartient depuis 2010 à la famille VINCENT.

Chef d’entreprise dans le BTP et grand amateur de vin, Jean-Marc VINCENT est tombé sous le charme du château Ogier de Gourgue et a choisi de se consacrer à sa passion pour la viticulture et le vin.

À son arrivée, il entreprend d’importants travaux de rénovation et de mises aux normes des installations.

L’unique chai, transformé en cuvier, est équipé de cuves inox tronconiques thermorégulées. Le chai à barriques est repensé et déplacé en sous-sol afin de permettre un élevage dans les meilleures conditions.

En septembre 2012, sa fille Claire, issue de l’univers du luxe et de la cosmétique, le rejoint dans l’aventure !

Ensemble, père et fille décident de mettre en commun  leur expérience pour conduire la propriété vers l’excellence.