Winegrowing since Roman times

The Côtes de Bordeaux region is a narrow strip, 60 km long and 5 km wide, on the right bank of the Garonne. Perched above the river and covered in vineyards and woods, the hills and valleys of the Côtes de Bordeaux provide some of the most beautiful scenery in the entire Bordeaux region.

Carte_aoc_cotes_de_bordeaux_ogier

THE FIRST CENTURY B.C.

Burdigala, as ancient Bordeaux was known, was a port surrounded by marshland. The Romans, who already had a long tradition of vine-growing, planted vines on the driest lands and those best placed for the evening sun: the slopes of the Garonne valley.

THE MIDDLE AGES

The growth of religious establishments and Benedictine abbeys led to the resurgence of farming. Strategically situated on the verges of navigable waterways, this region saw the construction of several castles: Langoiran, Cadillac, Lormont…

THE 18th AND 19th CENTURIES

Thanks to its proximity to Bordeaux, the nobles and bourgeois of the city chose to build their country residences, or “follies” in this region.

Un terroir viticole depuis l’époque romaine

La région des Côtes de Bordeaux forme une bande étroite de 60 km de long sur 5 km de large sur la rive droite de la Garonne. Perchée au-dessus du fleuve, alternant vignes et bois, coteaux et vallons, la région des Côtes de Bordeaux offre l’un des plus beaux paysages de tout le bordelais.

Carte_aoc_cotes_de_bordeaux_ogier

AU 1er SIÈCLE AVANT JC,

Burdigala, l’ancêtre de Bordeaux, est un port entouré de marais. Les romains qui bénéficient d’une longue tradition viticole, implantent la vigne sur les terres les plus sèches et les mieux orientées au soleil du soir : les terrasses de la vallée de la Garonne.

AU MOYEN AGE,

Le développement de « maisons religieuses » et d’abbayes bénédictines  permit  la remise en culture des terres. Région stratégique car située en bordure des voies navigables, elle vit la construction de plusieurs châteaux forts : Langoiran, Cadillac, Lormont…

AU XVIIIe ET XIXe,

Grâce à la proximité de Bordeaux, la région devient la terre d’élection des bourgeois et nobles bordelais qui y font construire des résidences campagnardes : les « folies ».